Sophomore record “The Devil’s Resolve” out next week on Peaceville Records

HELSINKI, FINLAND – Finland’s face of progressive death metal, Barren Earth, has teamed up with The A.V. Club to premiere the new track, “As It Is Written,” from the band’s impending sophomore release, The Devil’s Resolve. Check out the exclusive stream here:,70464/. The Devil’s Resolve will hit stores next week, on March 13th, via Peaceville Records.


The Devil’s Resolve track list is…

1. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows

2. The Rains Begin

3. Vintage Warlords

4. As It Is Written

5. The Dead Exiles

6. Oriental Pyre

7. White Field

8. Where All Stories End

9. Martyrs of Devotion (Special Edition)

10. World in Haze (Special Edition)

Mixed by Dan Swanö (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, The Devil’s Resolve continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70’s prog. lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes.

Artwork comes courtesy of notable US-based artist Paul Romano (Mastodon).

The Devil’s Resolve can be pre-ordered now through the Peaceville Records web-store as a special edition CD:, complete with two bonus tracks and slipcase cover, or on limited edition vinyl:

The recently revealed music video for “The Rains Begin,” directed by Ville Rissanen at Obscure Entertainment, is streaming online at:

The Devil’s Resolve mini-site, featuring an album sampler, teaser video, desktop background, studio diary and more, can be accessed at:


Barren Earth originally appeared in 2009 with the ‘Our Twilight’ EP, followed quickly by the debut album, The Curse Of The Red River (2010). Both releases met with a rapturous reception from fans and critics alike, including awards for best new band and best album.

Following the release of The Curse Of The Red River, Barren Earth has played several shows, not only in its native country of Finland, but in continental Europe, and most importantly, in North America, where as a part of the Finnish Metal Tour 2, the group played 28 shows alongside countrymen Ensiferum and Finntroll. This has naturally spurred the band’s creativity further, and the results of this can be heard on Barren Earth’s second album, The Devil’s Resolve.

Stay tuned to the official Barren Earth Facebook page at: for more information on Barren Earth and The Devil’s Resolve.

Barren Earth is…

Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)

Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai)

Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)

Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)

Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)

Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)

Barren Earth online…

Click here to view our case selection